My first true blog … I think? Also finger not used to typing.

    A lot has changed since my first attempt at doing this. I hope writing here will break the sheet of ice over the "well" of ideas for writing books I have stopped trying to do. We have had a lot of events happen in a very short time these last couple of months like sewer pipe to the septic tank coming apart, my daughter graduating High School as a Sophmore and starting College, my son growing into a mini tyrant, and hitting a deer with our only car to name a few things.
  College bound…
    I guess the most important news is my daughter getting into college so early and my bank account really agrees about the early part. I am very proud of the fact she is willing to endure more schooling to advance her knowledge and career options all for the sake of getting a little peice of paper saying she should know this stuff now and so hire me already.  To help her along (plus she has always wanted one), I went and bought a laptop for her to take back and forth to school as a graduating gift and it is one of those mini ones that will fit in her purse. I also got her started off by having to sell some stock for her first classes and thought I would put some of the money from tax time away for the next round of classes except I forgot a small, little nusance called MY student loans. The government had started taking this money from my paychecks earlier last year and it was a forgotten thing until after filing the taxes, which ended in a nice letter saying the return was taken for repayment of the loan! Now I have to figure out how these next classes will be paid for, but I am still proud she will still go even with the stop and start process we might send her spiraling through. We’ll see how things pan out.
  When the cows come home….
    The cows from the field next door had a brilliant idea to invade your personal space and graze the yard (we needed it mowed anyway). It took awhile to contact the owner, round-up the heffers with a few straggler (mostly calves), and open a new spot for them to cross. Not really eventful except for the fact my daughter does NOT like cows and thinks if they get close enough they will kill her.
  Grandma got ran over by a …
    While my son was sick and needed a vicks rub to clear his airways; I ended up having to run to my in-laws house for the rub, which is just a couple of miles away. There are notany lights on our streets here and when its dark it IS dark. Driving the couple of miles (speed limit on that road is 55) was not the issue rather just one house away from the in-laws I came across a few too many deer crossing the road. I was not in a great hurry and so was doing far under the speed limit when these roadblocking deer assulted me and my car. As anyone would tell you when hitting a deer, they get hit but they will surely get up and run away! This one I hit at around 35 mph. rolled 4 or 5 times before I passed it and after I pulled over to look back, it was as if nothing was ever there. I sure knew something had happened; my hood was dented in to start with! I made it to the in-laws for the rub and after telling my mother-in-law what had hapened the first thing said was "So where’s the deer" as if my little car would hold a "dead" deer (we have all seen those movies where the "dead" deer is put into the car and then wakes up to pulverize the inside of the car?) and I didn’t see the deer anyway.
  Teenage Muntant… nevermind
    We have had an issue with the sewer line to the second bathroom for some time (flushing that is), butthis problem happened one night when no one was using it. We hear a lot of things go under the trailer at night and we have even caught an armidillo in a live trap. A lot of bumping goes on under the trailer and we think nothing of it, however this night the noise was quite loud and when we looked the next morning the pipes somehow seperated under the second bathroom. Well, we shut that one down until we could fix it, but someone (a little monster) kept using it and made a BIGGER mess under the trailer than what we had started with. I got the pipe glue and some large trash bags for tarps to fix the pipe, but they wouldn’t reach each other. Pulling on the pipes was a very, very bad idea since the pipe seperated under the master bath now!!!! Go figure.
    Well, I gave up until my father-in-law could help me look at it and this is when I learned something important – black pvc and white pvc will not join with the glue I bought. It appears I am not the only one in the dark about this, since the people owning the trailer before had not a clue about it too. Enough about making mud pies, not a memory I want to keep thinking about.
  My dictator the kid…
    Even as I write this I hear my boy TELLING his mother that she will only have 1 hour on the Playstation before she needs to turn it off! I will have to go more into this later as I have to get to work again on a Sunday no less.
Adam Santo is a SciFi/Fantasy writer who enjoys the quiet moments to sit idly writing stories. His debut novel, Temperature: Dead and Rising, took the world for a ride they would soon not forget. Santo began plotting the second novel, Temperature: Bitter Cold, before the ink dried on his first book. Santo continues to write nonstop because he knows there is always a story waiting to get out. When he is not writing, Santo enjoys quality time with his family and friends, spending the occasional weekend at a movie theater, and reclaiming his youth when his son challenges him to a video game. Santo currently resides in sunny Florida with his beautiful wife and equally beautiful children.

Posted in Family
One comment on “My first true blog … I think? Also finger not used to typing.
  1. Cori says:

    keep it up! witty is sexy.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,050 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
disappearinginplainsight

Writing about writing

jjmarsh

writing and books, stories and words

Megan Haskell, Author

A Novel of the 9 Realms...Coming Soon!

Just English

A little bit of this, a little bit of that

Books Go Social

Social Media and Marketing for Authors

